Glee Season 4, Episode 5 and 6: The Role You Were Born to Play and Glease

Published November 16, 2012 by tiradical20s

 

I have come out of my brief hiatus to discuss last night’s episode of Glee.

I AM MOST DISPLEASED WITH THE PORTRAYAL OF EATING DISORDERS.

After last week’s casting in Grease, the school musical, the kids of McKinley High are magically ready to perform the show after only a week for all the world to see.

While I am very excited about the presence of Blake Jenner, who is very talented, and Darren Criss’ rendition of “Beauty School Dropout” I must say I was EXTREMELY offended by the subject content of Marley’s alleged spiraling into bulima as coaxed by Kitty.

Marley (who is probably a size 00) begins to fear she will be obese like her mother when her Sandy costumes begin shrinking (Kitty is bringing them in each night to make Marley feel like she is getting fat).

DID SHE NOT REALIZE THAT EVERYTHING ELSE FIT HER JUST RIGHT?! The scene where she is trying to throw up in the bathroom was just…awful.

“I DON’T WANT TO KISS A GIRL WITH PUKE ON HER BREATH!” said Rider Flynn.  This is the most distasteful sentence I have ever heard on Glee.  I understand what he was TRYING to get at by saying it, but it just rubbed me in such a wrong way that I almost walked away from my computer.  The whole episode did that.

I hope Ryan Murphy gets his ass handed to him for his character, Kitty, and for the subject matter.  I am all about portraying eating disorders on shows the CORRECT way if it is going to be tasteful and sensitive, but that really was not the way to do it.

 

Leave a Reply

